I am a woodchuck

1 and a half stacks done.

1 and a half stacks done.

 

This had better last for MANY winter visits!

This had better last for MANY winter visits!

Unlike the city, where grocery stores sell bundles of wood in “fireplace season” the grocery stores don’t sell bundles of firewood here. In summer, farmers sell it in bundles at the ends of their driveways to campers.  But it’s December. So while waiting for the heating oil truck to come fill my empty 250 gallon tank, I used up all of the indoor firewood I had and looked through the Yellow Pages for “firewood.” I found that I could get less than a full cord and pay a premium or just buy a full cord. I’ll use it all eventually, right?

Unlike the city, where firewood is delivered to your home all neatly stacked on pallets (and carried into your garage by a small forklift), up here it is just dumped out of a truck onto the spot you indicate. So I didn’t have to carry the wood FAR to stack it. All they had was hardwood – great for long burning fires. Friends, hardwood is HEAVY. I could only carry two, sometimes three logs at a time. I didn’t exactly “chuck” it. Stacking is serious business. If you are stacking outside, the bark side goes up. If you are stacking inside, the bark side is down. (Words of wisdom from my firewood guy.)

In all, I think I put in about 6 hours over the course of the weekend. That includes clean up of all the little bits of wood and bark that will work as kindling.  Having personally handled every single piece of wood, I’m feeling a bond with my chunks of maple (with a dash of birch and poplar).

I am a woodchuck. Hear me groan.

6 responses to “I am a woodchuck

  1. This first-hand particularity that connects one with depth and older wisdoms are the image-language of Soul. The Thomas Moore books on Soul are pretty good. Also Robert Sardello writes compellingly of Soul, whose activity is Love through Mindfulness.

  2. You are the walrus. Koo koo ka choo.

    Am busy now & looking forward to catching up with your blog soon.

    Much love, Marcella

  3. Love you both, Brian and Marcella! Good stuff, Brian. You get it. All the physical work I do here is so very good for my soul.

  4. So when do you learn to split your own wood? 🙂

  5. Firewood warms you three times: when you cut it, when you stack it, and when you burn it.

    Stay warm, my dear friend. It’ll be down to 24 tonight, and clear. Brrr!

    ~Marcella

    >________________________________ > From: Artemisia U.P. >To: jddojo@yahoo.com >Sent: Sunday, December 30, 2012 6:38 PM >Subject: [New post] I am a woodchuck > > > WordPress.com >artemisiaup posted: “Unlike the city, where grocery stores sell bundles of wood in “fireplace season” the grocery stores don’t sell bundles of firewood here. In summer, farmers sell it in bundles at the ends of their driveways to campers. But it’s December. So while waiting” >

Leave a Reply

